All in for Green!

Are you an EU citizen living in Berlin? You are entitled to vote in the upcoming district election!

Who will be elected with your vote?

The Bezirksverordnetenversammlungen (BVV) is the government of the district. It determines the guidelines for administrative policies, encourages actions whilst overseeing the political dealings of the district authority through a district mayor and municipal councillors. The district mayor and municipal councillors are elected through a secret ballot by the BVV.

The BVV has 55 seats in total. On 18 September 2016, more 11 parties will stand as candidates for the BVV in Tempelhof-Schöneberg.

How does it work?

Every EU citizen who fulfils the criteria (be at least 16 years old, have a registered residence in Berlin) will automatically receive a polling card (Wahlschein) by 27th August. On the polling card you will find the address of the polling station where you will be registered.

The polling stations will be no more than a five to ten minutes’ walk from your residence. You will have to bring a proof of identity (ID card or passport) and your polling card to the station.

Unfortunately, so far only very few EU citizens in Berlin have made use of their right to vote. Therefore dear EU-Friedrichshain-Kreuzbergcitizens, The Greens want to encourage you to go out and vote to use this opportunity to exercise your democratic powers as an EU citizen, and have a say in how the districts (Bezirke) are run.

Last but not least, The Greens continue to fight for extending the voting rights to all residents of Tempelhof-Schöneberg, including those who do not hold a German or EU passport but have been living in Germany for generations.

If you would like some more information:

Our district-team:
Jörn Oltmann and Martina Zander-Rade are our prime candidates for Tempelhof-Schöneberg. Martina Zander-Rade is currently the secretary of the Green BVV parliamentary group in our district.
More information (in German)

Our BVV-team:
For the BVV elections, we enter a strong list of 30 candidates with our district-team, Jörn Oltmann and Martina Zander-Rade as our prime candidates.
More information (in German)

Our election programme:
The short version of our Berlin election programme in English
Our programme in German